HISTORY EXHIBITS – THE FIRESIDE GALLERY
The Fireside Gallery contains changing exhibits with various items from our collection. These cases change approximately twice a year. Stop by and see something different every time you visit.
Highlights from the gallery include:
Remembered: History of the Loveland Burial Park
W.B. Osborn and G.W. Litle signed the incorporation of Lakeside Burial Park on February 5, 1880 giving Loveland its first cemetery. The prominent Timpke-Osborn family owned the cemetery until 1919 when the city purchased and took over its management. Cemeteries tell stories and are a place of community history. Come explore Loveland’s pioneer history through a look at the plots and the stories of the Loveland Burial Park.
A historic sign from the building located at the corner of 4th Street and Cleveland Avenue was recently donated to the Museum, and it inspired us to create an exhibit showcasing items found during the building’s renovation. Built in 1884, the Allen & Bartholf Building initially housed the W&T Pharmacy on its first floor and a 6,000 square-foot opera house on its second floor until the1920s when the opera house closed and the space was changed into furnished apartments under the name Arcadia Hotel.
Loveland’s Dairy Industry
Dairy farming has been a component of agriculture for thousands of years. Historically, dairy farming represented just a small portion of larger and more diverse farms. Within the last century, however, larger farms focusing solely on dairy production have emerged. Learn more about the dairy farms found around Loveland in this unique history exhibit.
Osborn Family Case
William Baskin Osborn and his wife Margaret moved to the Big Thompson Valley in 1861. They built a log cabin on the banks of the Big Thompson River with the first wood floor and shingled roof in Larimer County. The first church service in Loveland was held in their log cabin. W.B. raised hay, grain and produce at Timberlane Farm for more than two decades. In addition to operating the farm, W.B. served the newly formed Larimer County as an appointed county commissioner, treasurer, assessor and judge. As county judge, W.B. Osborn conducted the first marriage ceremony in the Big Thompson River Valley.
History of Loveland’s Fire Department
Fire departments organized hose team competitions to take the heat out of the often fierce rivalries that developed between local squads. Frank Bartholf’s Hose Company No.1 fielded a championship team for the first state tournament in 1887. The local boys set a record of 30.5 seconds in the 600-foot wet test and did the 600-foot hub-to-hub in 23.6 seconds.
Bartholf’s first hose cart is quite unique. While the race team members were waiting for the city to buy a regulation cart, they took a set of wheels from a worn out wagon and made a hose cart of their own to practice with. During practice, several large rocks were tied to the axle to add weight so the cart would not bounce into the air and turn over. In 1884, the first regulation cart arrived in town for the team to use.
Harold Dunning Collection
The Loveland Pioneer Museum – original collection.
This exhibit features some of the items in the original Museum collection from founder, Harold Dunning. Some of these items have not been on display for many years – so don’t miss your opportunity to explore a piece of the Loveland Pioneer Museum!
History of Loveland’s Student Athletics
Recreational activities for all ages were plentiful in Loveland during the 1880s and 90s. Among the most popular were baseball, swimming, boxing, hunting, fishing, foot races, ice skating, horse racing, fire hose team racing and sleigh riding.
With the building of Loveland’s first schools, students began playing organized sports. Loveland’s East Side School was constructed in 1881. Loveland’s first graduating high school class, consisting of five students, graduated from East Side School in 1894. The school burned down and was replaced by Washington School in 1905. The first football game was played on vacant lots north of Washington School. In 1917, Loveland High School opened on West Fourth Street. In 1926, an athletic field behind the high school opened for use. It was the first green football field in Colorado. The Loveland High School Indians captured the spirit of the entire community. Year after year, both boys and girls became members of a wide range of sports teams. Notable coaches such as Bill Reed and Ray Patterson, in the years between 1917 and 1964, when Loveland High School was located on West Fourth Street, had a profound effect on students’ ethics, sportsmanship, physical fitness and scholastics and played significant roles in community affairs.